Ballad of Louis Paine

NA015059

I dreamed I saw Louis Paine last night,
Alive as you and me.
Says I, “But Lou, you’re many years dead!”
“I never died” said he,
“I never died,” said he.

“‘Twas Edwin Stanton killed you Lou,
they hung you Lou,” says I.
“Takes more than hanging to kill a man,”
Says Lou, “I didn’t die.”
Says Lou, “I didn’t die.”

“In Washington City, Lou,” says I,
Him standing by my bed,
“They framed you at a conspiracy trial,”
Says Lou, “But I ain’t dead.”
Says Lou, “But I ain’t dead.”

And standing there as big as life
And smiling with his eyes
Says Lou, “What they can never kill
went on to plague Illinois,
went on to plague Illinois.”

From Cairo to Chicago,
in every home and lane,
Where honest ones defend the truth,
It’s there you’ll find Louis Paine,
It’s there you’ll find Louis Paine.

I dreamed I saw Louis Paine last night,
Alive as you and me.
I thought I saw him walking by the sea,
With Sirhan, James, and Lee,
With Sirhan, James, and Lee.

(Apologies to Joan Baez)

About ersjdamoo

Editor of Conspiracy Nation, later renamed Melchizedek Communique. Close associate of the late Sherman H. Skolnick. Jack of all trades, master of none. Sagittarius, with Sagittarius rising. I'm not a bum, I'm a philosopher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

